How to get a degree in architecture: entrance exams and job prospects



At least 50% aggregate is required in your class XII exams with mathematics as a compulsory subject if you wish to pursue architecture

The two most common tests for BArch courses are the NATA (National Aptitude Test in Architecture) and the AAT (Architecture Aptitude Test).

Architecture is the field of the design and construction of structures in their most basic form. It combines artistic knowledge, science, logistics and engineering principles. Architects must have a keen eye for detail and spatial awareness as they are involved in the conceptualization, mapping and supervision of construction projects at different scales.

Skills needed to become an architect

  • Visualization: You must be able to describe a conceptual structure to planners, workers and clients.
  • Spatial intelligence: Architects need this quality because they consider space as one of the main architectural elements.
  • Creativity: This is one of the essential characteristics of the design study, which is part of the training.
  • Combination of skills: Architects are required to incorporate mechanical, mathematical and observational skills into projects.
  • Organizational capacities: Organizational skills allow an architect to easily manage an assortment of tasks associated with a single project.

How do you become an architect

You must pass your class XII exams or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate and mathematics as a compulsory subject. After that, you must pass one of the entrance exams for the Bachelor of Architecture (BArch) courses.

BARC entrance exams:

To enter BArch programs, you must take the JEE Mains Paper 2 alongside the BArch entrance exams. Two of the most common tests are the National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) and the Architecture Aptitude Test (AAT).

  • National Architectural Aptitude Test (NATA)

Passing this entrance exam will make you eligible for BArch courses at different higher education institutions across the country. The test assesses your observation skills, your drawing skills, your aesthetic perception and your ability to think clearly.

Eligibility: You must pass your class XII exams with physics, chemistry and mathematics as compulsory subjects. Or you must pass your 10 + 3 diploma exams with mathematics as a compulsory subject. You must also obtain at least 50% in total and 50% in each of the compulsory subjects.

You can find out more here:

  • Architectural Aptitude Test (AAT)

Passing this entrance test will make you eligible for admission to BArch programs at IITs. You can take this test after passing the JEE Main and JEE Advanced exams.

Eligibility: During the main JEE exam, you must take the 2A (BArch) test. You must also pass the math test (part I) and aptitude test (part II) in CBT mode. The drawing test (part III) takes place in pen and paper mode, to be attempted on a drawing sheet of A4 format.

March classes:

If you already have a bachelor’s degree from a recognized university, you can enroll in a March course. To be admitted to these courses, you need a high level of logical, numerical and design knowledge as well as aptitudes.


  • Bachelor’s degree from a recognized university with at least 50% aggregate.
  • You can also register through GATE (General Aptitude Test in Engineering) and CEED (Common Entrance Examination for Design (CEED). GATE is organized by the National Testing Agency, while CEED is led by IIT Bombay.
  • Some universities hold their own entrance exams, while others hold an aptitude test and an entrance interview for March courses.

Popular institutes in India where you can study architecture

  • IIT Roorkee, Uttarakhand
  • NIT Calicut, Kerala
  • IIT Kharagpur, West Bengal
  • School of Urban Planning and Architecture, Delhi
  • CEPT University, Ahmedabad, Gujarat
  • Jadavpur University, Kolkata (for B.Arch)

* You must attend WBJEE alongside NATA to be admitted to BArch course at Jadavpur University.

Architecture positions

  • Architectural designer: These professionals work with clients to design the exterior and interior of buildings. They create commercial and industrial structures as well as private residences.
  • Architect engineer: These experts design buildings that raise living standards and improve quality of life.
  • Architectural designer: They are responsible for producing architectural construction documents and plans for their clients’ projects. They create construction related files that cover all aspects of the design process.
  • Architectural assistant: They work alongside seasoned professional architects in areas such as construction and facilities management.
  • Government architects: These professionals are employed in the following departments:
  1. Housing and urban development
  2. Architectural development
  3. Department of Public Works (DTP)
  4. City development
  5. Education
  6. Railway
  7. National Institute of Urban Affairs
  8. National Building Organization

Last updated on November 13, 2021

Source link


Leave A Reply